About me

I’m Marco van Bekkum, born and raised in The Netherlands, Europe. Don’t know where that is? Just Google it and be amazed of this great small country.

I was born in july 1962 in Vlaardingen (near Rotterdam) but when still very young moved to the north, Friesland. This is the Dutch “Lake District” so no wonder sailing came to me when i was young. I have always enjoyed sailing very much in my life.

First starting on the lakes, but later in life discovering the sea/ocean, I now see myself at a crossroads in life where I get the chance to sail fulltime.

My background has always been recreational sailing. Competition never appealed to me very much. I just want to be one with my boat, wind and water. And besides sailing, explore shores or more inland areas, cultures, meet many different people.

To prepare myself better of a life of full time sailing I took extra courses to get some necessary certificates and experience.

I’ve done one delivery of a SY from Mallorca to the Netherlands, that was a great addition to those experiences. The temptation was to keep doing deliveries, but that is not my dream, I want to set my own course, and not be under time pressure.

When friends of family ask me what my final goal is, i can say that there is none. I just want to sail and explore, follow the good seasons, the sun, the best of cruising life as long as I can physically and finally do it.

Yes, I am alone at the moment, there is no partner who will join me on this lifetime journey. However, many friends have already assured me they want to join me part of the way. That is wonderful. And besides that i hope many others will find and join me somewhere on my journey.

I’m a good host and cook and a flexible captain. Open to suggestions concerning daysailings in the region where I am. As I will be going at an easy pace, there will be plenty of time usually to explore more coves, bays, towns etc.